LESSONS FROM MY FREE NIGHT OF WWE

My friend Nathanael got some tickets to WWE Monday Night Raw for Christmas. He asked me if I wanted to go and since the price was right (free) I said yes.  Just like many guys in there 20’s and 30’s I was mesmerized by Hulkamania in the 1980’s . I don’t follow wrestling much anymore but it was fun. I am always trying to learn from every situation I am in so here are some observations from my evening at WWE Monday Night Raw.

  • The demographic was eye-opening. I could do a whole entry on this but let me just say that I don’t believe most churches are reaching these people.  There were so many kids and single moms it was crazy.  The diversity was worth noting too. I think the WWE embodies putting people on their stage who represent those they want to reach.
  • The WWE understands merchandising. I have never seen so many people buy T-shirts at an event. I have been to stadium and arena rock tours and they were nothing like this. Something about their product says “buy me now”.
  • The WWE understands the use of media. Wrestlers always had intro songs but now it is one video after another.  Even between matches they were pitching event and products. Above the ring was a full light rigging that could also compete with any concert I have been too. There were also a ton of pyrotechnics that made me wet my pants.
One thought on “LESSONS FROM MY FREE NIGHT OF WWE

  1. Nice.

    My dad took me to Wrestlemania VIII in Indianapolis when I was really young. Hulk Hogan beat Sid Justice (with a little help from the Ultimate Warrior) to retain the heavyweight championship belt.

Leave a Reply

