MARK’S GRAMMY PREDICTIONS

Well well it is that time of year again…Grammy time. The nominations came out last night.  I should be honest and say that I didn’t get to watch the Grammy Awards live nomination concert that aired last night on CBS because like a good little youth pastor I was still at the church on my hustle.

Regardless my friends at MTV.com took the time to narrow down the list of nominees into the pop culture ones that I care about.  So without further delay here are my predictions in these categories.

 

Here is a key to use as a guide.

  • The artist who will win
  • The Artist who SHOULD win
  • MY COMENTS ARE IN ALL CAPS

 

Album of the Year

Coldplay, Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends

Lil Wayne, Tha Carter III

Ne-Yo, Year of the Gentleman

Robert Plant and Alison Krauss, Raising Sand

Radiohead, In Rainbows

I DON’T KNOW WHO SHOULD WIN THIS SINCE WE ALL KNOW COLDPLAY HAD THE GRAMMY PEOPLE IN THEIR POCKET THE DAY THEY RELEASED THE ALBUM. IT IS HARD TO IMAGINE ANYONE ELSE HAVING A CHANCE.

 

Best New Artist

Adele

Duffy

Jonas Brothers

Lady Antebellum

Jazmine Sullivan

I AM TORN BETWEEN THE BOTTOM TWO.  I THINK LADY ANTEBELLUM ARE STILL UNDER THE RADAR AND SULLIVAN COULD GET THE CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED VOTE, BUT DUFFY HAS THE MAJOR LABEL PRESENCE AND BACKING.

 

Best Rap Performance by a Duo or Group

Big Boi (featuring Raekwon and Andrew 3000), “Royal Flush”

Jay-Z and T.I. (featuring Lil Wayne and Kanye West), “Swagger Like Us”

Lil Wayne (featuring Jay-Z), “Mr. Carter”

Ludacris (featuring T.I.), “Wish You Would”

Young Jeezy (featuring Kanye West), “Put On”

THIS SONG WILL WIN BECAUSE OF THE CAST IT HAS ON ONE TRACK. AGAIN IT IS HARD TO IMAGINE SOMETHING ELSE WINNING, BUT I THINK JEEZY IS THE DARK HORSE FOLLOWED BY THE WAYNE/JAY TRACK.

 

Record of the Year

Adele, “Chasing Pavements”

Coldplay, “Viva la Vida”

Leona Lewis, “Bleeding Love”

M.I.A., “Paper Planes”

Robert Plant and Alison Krauss, “Please Read the Letter”

COLDPLAY IS THE FAVORITE BUT BLEEDING LOVE GOT LOVE FROM EVERYONE. I DON’T REALLY WANT TO SEE JESSE MCCARTNEY WIN A GRAMMY AS A WRITER SO EVEN I MIGHT PULL FOR COLDPLAY

 

Song of the Year

Estelle (featuring Kanye West), “American Boy”

Adele, “Chasing Pavements”

Jason Mraz, “I’m Yours”

Sara Bareilles, “Love Song”

Coldplay, “Viva la Vida”

THIS IS A GREAT YEAR FOR THIS CATEGORY. IT IS LOADED.

I AM GONNA SAY COLDPLAY AGAIN, BUT I THINK LOVE SONG IS THE DARK HORSE FOLLOWED BY MRAZ AND ESTELLE/KANYE

 

Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group With Vocals

Coldplay, “Viva la Vida”

The Eagles, “Waiting in the Weeds”

Gnarls Barkley, “Going On”

Maroon 5, “Won’t Go Home Without You”

OneRepublic, “Apologize”

DON’T DENY THAT YOU SANG ALONG IN YOUR CAR TO THIS ONE JUST LIKE THE REST OF US.

 

Best Rock Album

Coldplay, Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends

Kid Rock, Rock N Roll Jesus

Kings of Leon, Only by the Night

Metallica, Death Magnetic

The Raconteurs, Consolers of the Lonely

I AM HEARING THAT KID ROCK IS THE DARKHORSE BUT COLDPLAY IS A ADULT CONTEMPORARY, LOVED BY OLD PEOPLE, ALREADY HAVE GRAMMY’S MACHINE.

 

Best Rap Album

Jay-Z, American Gangster

Lil Wayne, Tha Carter III

Lupe Fiasco, The Cool

Nas, Nas

T.I. Paper Trail

IF YOU HAVEN’T NOTICE FROM READING MY BLOG I HATE LIL WAYNE. I DESPISE THE GROUND HE WALKS ON AND IT SADDENED ME THAT AMERICA WOULD EVEN GIVE HIM SALES SUCCESS, BUT GRAMMY SUCCES WOULD BLOW MY MIND.

 

Producer of the Year, Non-Classical

Danger Mouse

Nigel Godrich

Johnny Karkazis

Rick Rubin

Will.I.Am

YOU CAN’T FIGHT IT.

 

Best Female Pop Vocal Performance

Adele, “Chasing Pavements”

Sara Bareilles, “Love Song”

Duffy, “Mercy”

Leona Lewis, “Bleeding Love”

Katy Perry, “I Kissed a Girl”

Pink, “So What”

THIS MIGHT BE THE MOST LOADED AWARD OF THE NIGHT. OTHER THAN ADELE THEY ALL COULD WIN IT.

PINK’S IS THE CATCHIEST HANDS DOWN.  I KNOW SOCCER MOMS THAT LOVE IT AND SHOULDN’T KNOW IT.

 

Best Male Pop Vocal Performance

Kid Rock, “All Summer Long”

John Mayer, “Say”

Paul McCartney, “That Was Me”

Jason Mraz, “I’m Yours”

Ne-Yo, “Closer”

James Taylor, “Wichita Lineman”

APPARENTLY THE GRAMMYS HAVE DECIDED TO RESPECT NE-YO. I STILL THINK THEY WILL PICK THE WHITE GUY.

 

Best Dance Recording

Daft Punk, “Harder Better Faster Stronger”

Hot Chip, “Ready for The Floor”

Lady Gaga and Colby O’Donis, “Just Dance”

Madonna, “Give It 2 Me”

Rihanna, “Disturbia”

Sam Sparro,”Black & Gold”

AGAIN, DON’T DENY THAT YOU SING THIS IN YOUR CAR.

 

Best Electronic/Dance Album

Brazilian Girls, New York City,

Daft Punk, Alive 2007,

Cyndi Lauper, Bring Ya to The Brink

Kylie Minogue, X

Moby, Last Night

Robyn, Robyn

I CAN’T PRETEND TO KNOW CRAP ABOUT THIS AWARD BUT I PREDICT LAUPER HAS CRITICS ON HER SIDE.

 

Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group With Vocals

AC/DC, “Rock N Roll Train”

Coldplay, “Violet Hill”

The Eagles, “Long Road Out of Eden”

Kings of Leon, “Sex on Fire”

Radiohead, “House of Cards”

THEY ARE LEGENDS, CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED, HAVEN’T DONE AN ALBUM IN YEARS, AND SOLD MORE THAN ANYONE.

 

Best Hard Rock Performance

Disturbed, “Inside the Fire”

Judas Priest, “Visions”

The Mars Volta, “Wax Simulacra”

Mötley Crüe, “Saints of Los Angeles”

Rob Zombie, “Lords of Salem”

ALL THE ROCK AWARDS ARE GUESSES FROM A HIP HOP GUY

 

Best Metal Performance

DragonForce, “Heroes of Our Time”

Judas Priest, “Nostradamus”

Metallica, “My Apocalypse”

Ministry, “Under My Thumb”

Slipknot, “Psychosocial”

 

Best Alternative Music Album

Beck, Modern Guilt

Death Cab for Cutie, Narrow Stairs

Gnarls Barkley, The Odd Couple

My Morning Jacket, Evil Urges

Radiohead, In Rainbows

 

Best Female R&B Vocal Performance

Beyoncé, “Me, Myself and I”

Keyshia Cole, “Heaven Sent”

Jennifer Hudson, “Spotlight”

Alicia Keys, “Superwoman”

Jazmine Sullivan, “Need U Bad”

THIS CATEGORY IS WEIRD THIS YEAR. THESE SONGS ARE OLD, FORGOTTEN, AND OUT OF THE PUBLIC EYE.

 

Best Male R&B Vocal Performance

Eric Benét, “You’re the Only One”

Chris Brown, “Take You Down”

Ne-Yo, “Miss Independent”

Trey Songz, “Can’t Help But Wait”

Usher, “Here I Stand”

USHER GOT THE NOD ON NAME ALONE. NO ONE HAS HEARD OF THE CHRIS BROWN SONG. I THINK TREY SONGZ IS THE RUNNER UP.

 

Best Rap Solo Performance

Jay-Z, “Roc Boys (And the Winner Is … )”

Lil Wayne, “A Milli”

Lupe Fiasco, “Paris, Tokyo”

Nas, “N.i.*.*.e.r. (The Slave and the Master)”

Snoop Dogg, “Sexual Eruption”

I DON’T WANT HIM TO WIN, BUT I AFRAID WAYNE WILL.

 

Best Rap/Sung Collaboration

Estelle (featuring Kanye West), “American Boy”

Flo Rida (featuring T-Pain), “Low”

John Legend & Andre 3000, “Green Light”

Lil Wayne featuring T-Pain, “Got Money”

Lupe Fiasco (featuring Matthew Santos), “Superstar”

AMERICAN BOY IS A GREAT SONG. I HOPE THAT WAYNE DOESN’T’ WIN THIS ONE TOO.

 

Best Rap Song

Lil Wayne, “Lollipop”

Flo Rida (featuring T-Pain), “Low”

Snoop Dogg, “Sexual Eruption”

Lupe Fiasco (featuring Matthew Santos), “Superstar”

Jay-Z & T.I. (featuring Kanye West & Lil Wayne), “Swagger Like Us”

AGAIN THE ROSTER OF THIS ONES TRUMPS ALL.

2 thoughts on “MARK’S GRAMMY PREDICTIONS

Leave a Reply

