THE BEST MINISTRY DECISIONS I HAVE MADE-PART 1

I am not yet 30, I do not possess a doctorate, and I am certainly not a ministry expert.  But I was thinking today that I started this blog to hopefully network and bless others the way I have been through blogs.  I was thinking about successes that I could share with others?  What decisions lead to those successes? And likewise it also got me thinking about what have been my failures and what decisions caused those also.  Over the next couple posts I will unveil the good, the bad, and the ugly thus far in my ministry career.

  1. Not changing everything overnight-I have heard this a million times, but some lone rangers still come into a church and tick everyone off overnight.  I was able to be transitioned into my church and even thought I knew things didn’t quite reflect my philosophy and vision I made sure that before we changed something we had momentum, reason, and understanding behind it to make it work.
  2. Cutting a program-Once the time to change something arrives; some programs might just need killed.  I had to let a program die in one form and than ressurect it in another.  It was easier to sink the ship and buy a new ship than to turn the Titanic.
  3. Getting away for long-term advanced planning-I am still learning to do this one right and plan things that I can still be satisfied and proud with a year later.  I do know that I have greatly benefited from time away to pray about and than plan what I will teach over the next year and flesh out what the series, graphics, sermon in a sentence, and staff and student involvement will look like in my ministry.
  4. Striving to be a ministry of students and not just a ministry to students-Opinions differ on this and I am not trying to anger anyone, but we want to make sure we aren’t just ministering at students.  We want to use students to minister to students.  There are many weeks it would be easier to just use a college kid who can play in the worship band, but it doesn’t develop students.  Part of our success is when our students are leading worship at their college Campus Crusade.  Are the announcements as “perfect” if a student leader does them? No. But they develop the student, attract students in a way no adult can, and help us make sure we are not just letting people fall off the end of a conveyor belt with no sense of how they fit in the church.  We still use adults to teach and do everything under the sun, but you get the heart of what I am saying.

TO BE CONTINUED-PART 1 OF AT LEAST 3 

2 thoughts on “THE BEST MINISTRY DECISIONS I HAVE MADE-PART 1

  1. what youth workers are you talking to next month? sounds like you could talk about what not to do in the early stages….i personally am always cravin’ more stuff on discipleship. just some thoughts. missed you this weekend! we shall make it up at another date. peace.

  2. Pingback: FIVE THINGS I AM THINKING ABOUT «

Leave a Reply

